The Beginning

2 06 2010

So what is Project Restore Me? Exactly what it says. This is my project, my method, my ultimatum… to myself – that it is time to reclaim my vitality, my health, my love for life, and most of all, my love for myself. I am sick of looking in the mirror and not liking what I see. I am sick of feeling less than 100%. I am sick of being ashamed of seeing myself naked. I want to love myself – not only inside, but outside too. I want to feel beautiful all the time, not just when I am having a good day. I want to feel vivacious, healthy and that I am living to my true potential. How can I do that when I am not 100% well – Not just not sick, but not well? Wellness is the key!

GOALS

So – the first step – is to set my goals. I have one main goal: I will to be in the best shape of my life by the time I hit my 32nd birthday. That’s May 1 of 2011! So – to achieve this goal, I have set both fitness and nutrition goals… and they are:

Fitness

• I will be able to run a mile in sub-7 minutes

• I will be able to do 30 push-ups in a row

• I will be able to do one strict pull-up (I have never been able to do a pull-up in my life!)

• I will be able to dead-lift 1½ times my bodyweight.

• I will weigh 145lbs. or less (not really fitness, but wasn’t sure where else to put it…)

Nutrition

• I will stop overeating

• I will get over my addiction to sugar

• I will figure out what my food sensitivities are, and limit my consumption of those foods

• I will stop my cravings for foods that are not good for me

METHODS

The next step – how am I going to achieve these goals? This whole project is beginning on June 6, 2010. I am starting with a one-month detoxification diet. The first two weeks, I will be eating all organic whole grains, fresh fruits and vegetables. No meat – no processed foods – no animal products (believe me, this is going to be hard!). Oh – and no cheating. If I let myself cheat, even once, I will let myself cheat again. I can’t have that! Once week 3 begins, I will start slowly reintroducing fish and chicken. Week 4 – the reintroduction of beef.

Once that first month is done, I will be following the Zone diet . If I feel like I want to reintroduce minimal amounts of processed foods and other animal products, I will do so as I see fit. Within this process of reintroduction, I will be paying close attention to how my body reacts to each new food. This will help me to determine what I should and should not be eating.

Meanwhile, I will being doing the CrossFit ‘Workout of the Day’ – to the best of my abilities. I doubt there will be many of the workouts that I can do ‘as prescribed’. But with the equipment I have available to me, and my ability-level, I will do my best! And I will get to the point where I can do those workouts!

ACCOUNTABILITY

Big deal, right? Yes – it is. I have told myself over and over again that I need to do something about my health, my weight, how I feel about myself. I have started something so many times, but it has never lasted long. I’ll cheat once or twice, say ‘oh, it’s okay… it won’t hurt.’ Well – it hurts! Now is my moment – my time – to make a change. So, what is different about this time? Besides that I feel a lot more committed?

Now, I am writing this blog to keep myself accountable. I am talking about what I am doing. I am recruiting friends and family to help support me. My sister, Marissa, and my best friend, Becca, are both nutrition counselors, and they are both part of my support team. My sister is even adapting this project, and doing her own version – ‘Project Restore Me – San Diego’!  My husband, though he won’t be able to join me in this project, is also my biggest support. We’ll see who else I get to support me as the journey continues…

So – yes! This is a big deal! At least it is for me…

Let the journey begin!

Actions

Information

6 responses

2 06 2010
Becca

I’m here for you Legs! I’m with you, all year long!

2 06 2010
Marissa

This is amazing Alena!!!! I am so excited to support you in whatever way I can along this journey! Your strong feelings about this are evident in your writing and I respect your putting it out there in their raw form. This is inspiring and exciting and incredibly admirable!!!!
May this spread like wildfire in the hearts and bellies of others!

4 06 2010
Michelle

Hey Leggers
Onward Ho!!
Love this idea and i am proud of you
that you are able to put it down in writing-set it in stone and go for it.
You WILL do this!
Love and health
and smile everyday!
Mom

7 06 2010
Kasamba Ronald

Hi Alena!!
i have been in the life of projects for several years and i have seen things happening.
Your project is very unique and i pray you achieve your goal.
I wish you had started implementing it during your stay in Uganda….
wooohoooo!!
Kasamba Ronald – Uganda.

9 06 2010
Kathleen Ackley

You go girl! I have been working my own ass off too. I gained about 10-15 lbs. after James and I got together. UGH!!!! I finally lost all that and am in good cardio shape, but haven’t been lifting. So even though I weigh what I did when I met James, my body defintiely doesn’t look the same. Those damn thighs!!! I know you and you are like me when it comes to being addicted to exercise! Once you start, if you keep at it for a good three weeks, you will be hooked. Really. And the food thing will just follow along. Your cravings will change. But I still need Cheetos on a regular basis…

9 06 2010
Kathleen Ackley

And really, its OKAY if you never, ever, ever eat beef again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

