Day 1 – Baseline

6 06 2010

So today it all started….

The day didn’t exactly start as I had planned it, as I was still about 2 1/2 hours from home, so there were some slight changes to plans for Day 1. But – it’s been a great and productive start.

First – food… I was surprised at how little I had to eat, and that I really wasn’t that hungry throughout the day. I started with some blueberries and an apple about 8, and didn’t eat again until 1. I was amazed that I wasn’t even hungry until then. Lunch was wonderful! A bunch of lightly sauteed local, organic vegies (think cauliflower, turnips, carrots, summer squash, kale, onions, spinach and garlic) with a light smattering of Bragg’s liquid aminos and some pumpkin seeds. Wow! I LOVE vegies. I am so glad about that too!!!

Been drinking lots of water, and about to have a nice scrumptious butter lettuce and spinach salad with blueberries, some other vegies, hemp seed, and some homemade oriental dressing.

But mostly, today was a day for preparing. I cooked up a nice big mixture of grains for the week (amaranth, quinoa, millet and steel cut oats). I’m thinking this is going to be great with the vegies I sauteed (I made enough for a few days!), and for breakfast in the morning with a little homemade maple syrup and fresh fruit. Also started some sprouts. This is a fairly new adventure. I’ve only sprouted seeds one other time, so we’ll see how they turn out. Will be nice to have that extra little kick of enzymes in a couple days! And last, but not least, I just pulled off my first batch of Kombucha tea. I’m planning to take about 1/2 a cup per day until I get my next batch off.

I think the most important thing I did today though, was I tested myself physically to get my baseline of where I’m at, and how far I have to go. So, without any more preamble. Here’s where I’m at (by the way – this is really hard to share online. I can’t believe I am actually posting this, but here goes!)

Height: 5’9″

Weight: 167lbs.  (and therefore a BMI of 24.7, which is supposedly ‘normal’ though I’m not sure I agree with that!)

I took measurements of my waist, hips, bust, etc… but I’ll wait to share those until I have something to compare them to in a month. In order to keep myself motivated and to figure out where I’m at, I’m going to do these measurements once a month.

1 mile run time: 9:30min.

push-ups: 8 (without taking a break, and yes these are real push-ups!)

pull-ups: 0 (though I can do 4 with my green exercise band, and this is how I am going to get up to that 1!)

one-rep max of deadlift – 160 lbs.

So – that’s where I’m at. I have a long way to go. Looking back at my goals, this means that I am going to lose at least 22 pounds in the next 11 months, take 2:30 off my mile time, increase my pull-ups by 1!, increase my push-ups by 22, and increase my deadlift by about 80 pounds. Thankfully, this is just the beginning!

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 06 2010
Kate

You go, Amazon woman!!!

7 06 2010
Marissa

I’m so inspired by you sister!!!! I’m enjoying the body awareness I am getting from this project and the insights into how I respond to certain things and why – and this all is reflected in the way we eat! We have a relationship with food that mirrors our relationship with ourselves on many levels.
I admire you for sharing your goals and being so candid. I believe posting your progress can be truly empowering no matter how scary it seems to be sharing those numbers. YOU ROCK!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

