Day 6 – Shifting self-perceptions

11 06 2010

It seems that throughout the day, my perception of myself is continually changing. And I don’t mean it is evolving over time. There are moments throughout the day where I feel great about myself. I look in the mirror and I am proud of myself. I know that there are things that I need to improve, but I feel good about where I’m at and where I’m heading.

Then, there are moments (and unfortunately, these still seem to be the norm for most of the day…)  where I see a reflection of myself, or I see myself how others might see me, and all of a sudden I don’t feel so good anymore. I feel wide, a little chubby, not so attractive. I can’t wait til I have that first feeling most of the time, and for when that is the norm. I want to feel good about myself and love where I am at – I know I am on my way, but it definitely is a process.

But – I was surprised yet again… I am continually surprised at how un-hungry I am throughout the day. This morning I ate a beautiful mix of grains (amaranth, millet, quinoa, steel-cut oats and buckwheat groats) with boysenberries, hemp seeds and maple syrup. A wonderful meal – at about 7am. At about noon, I thought I was feeling a little hungry, but I was busy driving, and ignored it. It went away. It didn’t come back until 3pm. I was amazed that I lasted that long on my breakfast. And I wasn’t even that hungry at 3! Wow! This really makes it hit home for me that I wasn’t listening to my body before. I was eating because it was time to eat. I was eating the amount of food I thought I was supposed to eat, which was way to much. Now I listen to when I’m hungry, and try to only eat the amount that will keep me satisfied. I keep snacks with me, so if I do get hungry, I can have a healthy snack of nuts or fruit, and keep myself going.

My mom shared something with me awhile ago about eating until you are full. Your body creates a little belch (not a big belch, but a little inner belch) when you have had enough. I have started to listen and feel for that belch. It usually comes earlier than I think, but when I listen to that, my body is happy. Good advice!

Actions

Information

One response

12 06 2010
Rissa Ree

So glad to hear that you and your body are learning to communicate again! It can be such a beautiful relationship! Keep inspiring sistah!

Leave a Reply

