17 & 18 – Lemon and Berry Ice Cream!

23 06 2010

I feel like I have been soooooo soooo busy! But, even so, I am staying on track. I haven’t cheated again, and feeling good. I even did my workout last night – after 9pm – which is when I am usually in bed. I can’t believe I did it. It felt really good. I knew that I wouldn’t feel very good if I didn’t do it. Tonight is going to be hard though – about 5 hours of sleep followed by an 11 hour day at work. I probably will not do the workout of the day, but I will definitely do a workout!

I have been feeling really good lately. I have no idea how I’m doing with the weight loss, but I feel good, and that’s what matters. I am only going to weigh myself (and take pictures) once a month. This way, I don’t deal with the inevitable ups and downs and get frustrated. I think a month will give me a good picture of how I am doing. It’s coming up soon as well! Exciting.

I am going to share a little recipe with you guys right now though. Something that I think could become addicting. Lemon and berry ice cream – homemade – non-dairy!

It is amazing! The first bite or two are a little strange, because it definitely does not taste like ice cream, but then it gets addicting. It is really rich, and a great treat – especially when it is in the high 90’s or low 100’s like it often is during the summer in my neck of the woods. I have adapted a recipe I found on a raw website for ingredients that I have – I also like lots of berries, so I add more than what is called for – I also substitute whichever berries are in season, or that I am craving at that particular moment! So – here is the recipe!

1 1/2 cups cashews (preferably not roasted and not salted); 1 cup water; 1/2+ cup blueberries; 1/2+ cup raspberries; 1/2 cup agave (I use a mix of maple syrup and honey), 1/3 cup lemon juice (fresh-squeezed if possible)

Then you blend until smooth and cream. Chill and process through an ice cream machine. Now – I have found that blending the cashews and water together first, and then adding the rest makes it a little more creamy, and doesn’t leave as many little chunks of cashew. Also – I don’t have an ice cream machine, so I just stick it in the freezer. It isn’t as light and fluffy as it would be out of an ice cream maker, but tastes just as good. Hard to get out of the bowl too. Maybe – an idea – is to freeze it in ice cubes, and then you can eat a small tasty treat whenever you have a hankering, and not fight to get it out of a bowl. I’ll have to try that next time!

Actions

Information

One response

24 06 2010
Rissa Ree

Love the recipe!!!! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

