38 – A large lapse…

13 07 2010

Well – I went camping for work again. 25 hours of work in 2 days. Exhaustion, wonderful dinner, but too many foods that I haven’t been eating. And WOW – my body could tell. Upset stomach, gaseousness, bloating, edema around my ankles and a headache. I didn’t realize how many headaches I had been having until I realized when I got one this morning that I haven’t had a single headache in the last 5 weeks. I am thinking that it may be the gluten. I didn’t really believe that I would react to gluten, but with all those symptoms, I think I am starting to believe it. I had also noticed that I was getting a small amount of edema around my ankles in the afternoons/evenings for the last year or so. I haven’t noticed it in awhile, but have started to notice it again since I’ve been cheating and eating wheat products. I guess maybe my body is trying to tell me something.

So – the good thing about this, is that I am recommiting to me. I am making this lifestyle change. I may have been struggling, but I know that I can do this. So – starting soon (I have another 12 hour day of work tomorrow…), hopefully by this weekend I will be starting a food journal. But – I’ll chat more about that tomorrow. Now – it is time for CrossFit and bed.

Smiles!

Actions

Information

One response

15 07 2010
Rissa Ree

I’m proud of you for listening so intimately to your body! Symptoms speak loads especially when we’ve had a period with out them. Kind of crazy how we can forget how bad it was until it comes back.
You know you’ve got all of my support in going 100% gluten-free! I’m there with you to support you through the physical, the emotional and the mental! It’s a journey you don’t need to take on your own sister!!!!!
I love you and am so inspired and proud of you!!!!

Leave a Reply

