49 – Food Sensitivities…

24 07 2010

As I have been learning more and more about the foods that I am putting into my body, I am learning more and more about food allergies and food sensitivities, and that I am sensitive to some foods. It is really hard, and in order to learn this, you have to take the foods out of your diet for a few weeks first, and then reintroduce them and see how your body handles them. It is a bit disturbing, because you may realize that some of the foods that you love – comfort foods, foods that you eat all the time – don’t sit well with your body.

Food allergies and food sensitivities are different from each other. Allergies tend to be more severe, and can often be deadly when people encounter the foods that they are allergic to. Sensitivities have a smaller effect, but can be quite uncomfortable, and in the long-run, can actually cause extensive damage to your body. Some of the symptoms that I have noticed (though there are many, many more!) are congestion, runny nose, bloating, gas, stomachache, headaches, edema, and being emotional (or more correctly – a basketcase!).

So – what am I sensitive to… So far, I have noticed reactions to gluten (wheat and some other grains have gluten in them, as do many processed foods), and dairy. I am trying to go more or less gluten free, though I know that I am not 100% yet. The dairy is harder. I love yogurt, ice cream and cheese. I crave them… I am trying to keep them out of my diet, but so far I am struggling. I am trying to find alternatives, but we will see how that goes. I know that I need to do this, because the symptoms are horrible. You don’t realize how bad the symptoms are, or how bad foods treat you, until you take them out, and then reintroduce them. I was amazed. So – here’s to going gluten and dairy free!!!!

Actions

Information

One response

25 07 2010
Rissa Ree

Yee haw!!!! I know it’s tough sweet sistah but I’m telling you it gets a bit easier with each passing day! Dairy is a tough one as we grew up in Wisconsin for goodness sake – land of the cheeseheads! I can relate to your craving and desire for that comforting texture and taste! I will continue to share some alternatives as I come across them that are highly processed. I have not and likely will not venture toward the fake cheeses (rice, soy, etc.) as I think the processing of these things is equally as bad for my body in ways I haven’t yet discovered as dairy is when consumed.
I will say though that as your gut heals you may begin to tolerate dairy – though at that point I would highly recommend only doing raw, unpasteurized as organic is still pasteurized and it no longer has the beneficial enzymes and bacteria needed to properly digest and assimilate all the nutrients. Dr. Andrew Weil said that cheeses from high altitude mountain meadows such as Switzerland (emmental and gruyere-sp?) and France are good ones to consume (not so much if you are trying to stay local) but that the grasses up there actually have higher omega 3 content… interesting!
Seriously think about trying that mock cheese dip I posted on FB http://www.facebook.com/pages/San-Diego-CA/Hand-In-Hand-Wellness/104768646224441?v=app_2347471856&ref=ts
It’s really good and I think if you put it on top of a dish in the oven it would toast the cashews and may even make it taste a little like toasted cheese 🙂
YUM!!!!! And the longer you soak the cashews (1-4 hours) the smoother they will blend up!
Keep rockin it sistah!

Leave a Reply

