88 – Mirrors

2 09 2010

We moved in to a new place this last weekend, and it has been absolutely wonderful! What I have been discovering though, is that mirrors are my new ‘frenemy’. I love them and hate them. We haven’t had a mirror larger than a bathroom mirror above the sink in years. Well, now we have a very large bathroom sink mirror, and a full length mirror right next to it.

As I walk naked to the shower or to the toilet each morning, I catch a good glimpse of myself. My whole self. All the little details, the cellulite on my arse, the little love handles on my hips. There are good things as well. In the morning, I am always feeling at my best, so I can also see the start of the definition in my abs, the flatness of my tummy, the strength in my arms. So – the mirror is my friend. I guess you could say it is a good friend, because it doesn’t hide the flaws. It shows me everything. It lets me know how far I have come, how good I should be feeling about myself, but it doesn’t let me think I have made it yet either. It keeps me honest. It shows me those little ‘flaws’ that I want to fix. Those chunks of fat that I want to keep working on.

I have decided that mirrors are a good thing. We can trick ourselves into thinking we are somewhere we aren’t, but those mirrors, those friends, help show us where we really are. So – to all of the actual mirrors I have, and to those friends of mine who act as mirrors (especially my husband!), I thank you for keeping me honest, keeping me on track, and kicking me in the butt when I am a fool!

Actions

Information

2 responses

6 09 2010
Rissa Ree

I LOVE THIS PART: “So – the mirror is my friend. I guess you could say it is a good friend, because it doesn’t hide the flaws. It shows me everything. It lets me know how far I have come, how good I should be feeling about myself, but it doesn’t let me think I have made it yet either. It keeps me honest.”
AND THIS: “So – to all of the actual mirrors I have, and to those friends of mine who act as mirrors (especially my husband!), I thank you for keeping me honest, keeping me on track, and kicking me in the butt when I am a fool!”
WELL SAID!!!!!!

7 09 2010
projectrestoreme

Thanks Rhys! You’re one of those mirrors too! Our conversation on the phone the other day helped out a lot. I needed that! Thanks for being there for me, and keeping me motivated!

Leave a Reply

