89 – Cooking…

3 09 2010

I am a foody. What can I say? I love food, I love to eat, I love to cook. I love to experiment with foods and new recipes. But – it is sooooo hard on the waistline. I know that my love of cooking helps me to eat healthier foods and gives me a lot more options. But I just love the flavor so much, that sometimes I just keep eating. Wow! Can I complain about that? I love to eat, and therefore I do? I don’t think I’ve lost much for weight this last month, and I am struggling with that. I don’t even want to do my next weigh in. I’m scared.

But – this post was supposed to be about cooking, and the joys of cooking. It is 8:30 in the morning, and I have  already made homemade granola, I have a chicken roasting in the oven, and I am about to start a beef stir-fry for dinner for tonight (I have to work a 10 hour day starting at noon, and a 13 hour day tomorrow – gotta love holidays, so I’m getting my cooking out of the way so I can still eat healthy with no other healthy options around!)

Cooking is an amazing part of the day. I am amazed that people don’t take advantage of this time, and get the frozen foods, packaged foods, and fast foods. I love being able to connect with my food. Put that joy and love of eating and life into my food as I am preparing it. That way I am feeding myself and those I love, not only good food, but joy as well! I made a roasted butternut squash and green apple bisque the other day, and served it with a salad topped with lots of vegies, sauteed onions and seared steak. It was an amazing meal, but the fact that I got to prepare it for friends, and with joy, made it that much better.

I have a friend who is planning a wedding right now, and their caterer was talking to them about ‘memorable food’. The most memorable food I have had was at my wedding. Not because it was prepared by some gourmet chef, and was something exotic, but because you could feel the joy that went into making the food. It was made by my friends and family, and the joy and love of the wedding week went into the food. Everyone tasted it, everyone commented, and everyone asked for recipes.

I guess what I’m saying, is that I wish people would spend more time preparing their own food, and enjoying it. Not looking at it like it is some chore, some task to get done, but a pleasure. You will start to notice a difference, and I’m guessing your family will too!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

