97 – The importance of sleep…

11 09 2010

I am writing this right now, as I should be falling asleep… oops! I really need the sleep right now as well. But – I wanted to write this before I head off to the land of dreams.

I have been learning and realizing how important it is to get a good night’s rest each and every night. Part of the reason I am realizing this is because I have been working every day (I won’t have any days off for 2 1/2 weeks!), and going in to work by 6am each morning. Ouch! I struggle to get through my day, I am more prone to eat foods that are bad for me, it is harder to pay attention to what I am eating, it is hard to be motivated to do my workouts. And it is really hard to want to cook or do anything at night.

Now – when I am fully rested, it’s a whole different story. I am excited about my workouts, I love being in the kitchen – cooking an amazing meal, I love preparing my snacks and lunch for work the next day. I still cheat on occasion, but it is much less common when I am fully rested. And on top of that, my sister has been teaching me about the effects of melatonin and cortisol (two hormones related both to sleep and stress), and their effect on our bodies, our health and more. Both of which are partially regulated by getting proper amounts of sleep.

Our bodies really are ingenious! We just need to relearn how to listen to them, and actually take them seriously! So, having said that – good night and sweet dreams!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

