128 – Weight loss and fitness choices

12 10 2010

I have always wondered why people insist on losing weight solely through dieting. Why people do not think about exercise is beyond me. Maybe it is laziness – most likely it is. But why do people think that they will become skinny and sexy without exercise?

I have come to the conclusion over the years that I hate diets, and I don’t think any of them really work in the long term. Because diets are for the short term. 99.9% of people who diet are doing it for a month, or two, or until they lose 25 or 50 or 80 pounds. And then they will go back to eating and living just like they were before they started the diet. And more than likely, they will gain back that weight, and probably a little more.

I know a couple people who are on diets right now, and I find their diets extremely interesting. One is on a low carb/no fat diet. She occasionally eats what I would consider a healthy well-rounded meal, but for the most part, they are not that healthy, and definitely well-rounded. For lunch, she may have a lettuce salad with mushrooms and maybe some carrots with a non-fat caesar dressing. Sorry – but that doesn’t do shit for anyone! Add a little protein and some good fats, and a few more vegies, and you have yourself a good, healthy, well-rounded meal. Breakfast is a protein shake. 6 oz in a store bought container. I don’t know about you, but my stomach would be growling in about 10 minutes, and I would probably end up snacking myself to death before lunch!

Then – another acquaintance just got the lapband. If you do not go through massive therapy or truth searching with yourself about your relationship with food and how and why you eat the foods you eat, you are just going to regain all that weight as soon as the lap band is gone.

Why are we so obsessed with the quick and easy fix, even if it will be worse for us in the long run? Why do we not see ahead to that?

I am learning so much more about my relationship to food and why I eat the foods that I have eaten in the past. Why I crave certain foods. It amazes me that people don’t look at that. Maybe they are just afraid of what they’ll find. It is scary sometimes. Sometimes it is comfort. I made a nice pot roast yesterday for dinner tonight. When we sat down, all I could think was, ‘I want a slice of bread with butter to go with my pot roast!’ Why? Because that’s how we always ate this kind of meal at home. And they go so well together. But – does my body really need it? Will my body be happy if I eat this? No. But it serves to comfort my soul that is so far from home. For the moment that I eat it. As soon as the bread is gone though, that comfort is gone. Was it really worth that couple minutes of comfort to feel all that discomfort for hours later? Ask yourself a few questions like that next time you are sitting down to a meal or snack.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

