137 – Two dresses richer

21 10 2010

Scary words! Dress shopping… Or clothes shopping in general!

I have a wedding to go to next weekend, and in honor of the occasion and to show off my ever-changing glorious bod, I decided it was time to get a new dress! Now – every other time I have gone clothes shopping, I end up not buying anything and completely depressed. Hence, I don’t shop for clothes! I hate how things look on me, and I become ultra sensitive about the extra fat on my thighs, my not so small behind, and the fat between my boobs and my armpit, to name a few things. I get so disgusted with myself that I end up almost in tears, and usually end up eating a lot of things that are not good for me (or good for my body) to help try to escape from the pain.

Well, I was bound and determined to not let that happen today! I was going to find a beautiful dress that fit my beautiful body, and to end the day with a smile on my face and sunshine in my heart.

Well – it didn’t start off the greatest, because I couldn’t find any dresses that were below the knee. I am still struggling with my legs, and I am not quite ready to show them off in public! So I had to find a long dress. One that at least was below the knee! Every store I went into had these really cute dresses (ps – I am not a dress wearer… they find their way onto my body about 2-3 times a year!), but they were all super short. Argh! I tried store after store after store, and they all had the same thing. Then I remembered a store I had been in years ago, that might just have what I was looking for. I tried it out, and voila! they had a few (maybe 10 different ones) long dresses! I was determined that one of these was going to work.

Well – how did it end you might ask? I ended up buying 2!!!! And I think they both look great on me, and now I have to decide which one to wear to the wedding… I was happy at the end of the day. I even smiled when I was trying them on in the dressing room.

Don’t get me wrong. I definitely had my moments of panic and distress, but I didn’t let them overtake my day or my emotions. I calmed down and tried to find the beauty again. And it worked! So – now I am two dresses richer, and even more so in my mind!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

