164 – Technique

17 11 2010

So – I am finally getting laid off! I know, most people would cry and throw a fit and not have any idea of what to do with their lives. I am excited. I can’t wait to actually live my life, have fun and get things done. So exciting! I can’t wait.

But – anyways… I have decided that I need to work on my technique for CrossFit. There are so many lifts and exercises that I am not very good at. And a lot of that is technique. I know that I could do so much more than I am currently doing if I had better technique. So – my goal – my plan – is to pick a different exercise each week, and work on technique for at least 20 minutes before or after each workout that week. So – my first week (next week – Thanksgiving!) is deadlift. Then I am going to follow that up with squats. There are a bunch of other ones, but those are my first two. I need to really work on this, and improve. And make it so I don’t hurt myself. I can’t wait.

So – that is my newest plan. My newest addendum to Project Restore Me! I love that this project just keeps evolving. Just like me!

Actions

Information

2 responses

18 11 2010
Rissa Ree

Great news for you! πŸ™‚ I know you are excited to start moving forward with your life and public health and such, so YIPPEE! πŸ™‚
When I was studying herbal medicine, Susan Weed said – if you really want to ‘know’ a plant and it’s medicine, then you must spend a year with it. The following year you may choose another plant. It may seem like a Long time but if you know 7 plants, intimately, in 7 years, you will have all the medicine you need. And you will know it well!
So, you can maybe adapt this to your learning and perfecting crossfit technique – take one exercise a week, or month, or year…. really spend time with it.
Just a thought πŸ™‚
See ya next week!

18 11 2010
Jennifer

I’m excited for you as well! Time to do things that you love to do, get projects done and work on yourself. I hear you making choices (simple choices) to work on one thing at a time. Pick something and go with it. This brings me motivation. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

