207 – Cooking Sacrilege

29 12 2010

Everyone knows that the secret to French cooking is butter, butter and more butter! So – what happens when you want to make a French dish, but you are allergic to dairy? Well – I tried, and I think I succeeded. Both my husband and I were extremely happy with the results, though I’m not sure a French food fanatic would agree.

I found a beautiful recipe for Filet au Poivre from thepioneerwoman.com website. It looked amazing! Creamy, filled with flavor, and super simple. Oh and if you don’t know what Filet au Poivre is, it is a super juicy steak drizzled with the creamiest, tangiest peppercorn sauce. Absolutely gorgeous! The only problem – it not only had butter in it, it had 1/2 cup of heavy cream. Oh – the agony!

Well – of course I had to try it. And like I said earlier, I think I was successful! Here is my recipe adapted to a non-dairy diet…

CF Filet au Poivre

-2 beef filets (or steaks)

– 1 1/2 Tbsp grapeseed oil

-2 Tbsp dijon mustard

-1/4 + 2 Tbsp brandy

– 1/2 c full fat coconut milk, whisked together with 1 tsp arrowroot starch

– 1 Tbsp peppercorns, crushed

Preheat oven to 500 degrees. Crush the peppercorns by placing them in a ziploc bag and using a rolling pin to roll (or smack) them! Set aside. I measured out each of the ingredients for the sauce into separate prep bowls so that I could have them ready for making the sauce when the time arrived.

Sprinkle meat with kosher salt and fresh ground pepper. Over high heat (in an oven-proof pan) heat the grapeseed oil. When super hot, put the steaks in the pan. Brown on each side for about 1 minute (depending on the thickness of your steak), then throw the pan in the oven for a few minutes to your desired doneness (I had some pretty thick steaks, so mine took about 10 minutes…). Pull out the steaks, toss them onto a plate and set aside.

Put the pan back on the stove on medium-high heat. Add the dijon mustard and whisk it around the pan. Add the brandy and whisk around the pan. Let it bubble vigorously about 45 seconds, then add the coconut milk (with arrowroot powder) and the peppercorns. Whisk together, let bubble about 45 seconds, and voila… you have creamy peppercorn sauce. Remove from the heat, spoon over your steak and Serve this yummy creamy goodness!

And enjoy…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

