223 – Nutrition fears

14 01 2011

I have been taking a break lately. Well, kind-of. At least from blogging. Mostly because I have just been so dang busy! It is amazing how much stuff there is to do, and I’m laid off right now. Unemployed. How does that work? I wonder how I got anything done when I was working 40+ hours a week. I feel like I am always running around now, and that is without the responsibility of having a job.

Don’t get me wrong – I am loving it. Except the part of looking for jobs. Well – kind of. I am actually enjoying looking for jobs – seeing whats out there, putting in applications, the tediousness of writing cover letters and targeting my resume for each application. But it takes forever! Put on top of that the fact that my sister and I are trying to get a small business started (over the course of this next year!), and that I am trying to learn as much as I can about health, living gluten free and how to cook all the healthy foods my body craves and loves.

Wow! There is just so much to do! My brain is constantly going. So – I apologize that I haven’t been blogging lately. I hope you understand. I hope to get back on track and get back to writing about my health, my project and my progress.

On that topic. How am I feeling? Good question. I am in denial. I know that I need to cut all sugars (besides those that are naturally occuring in my whole foods) out! I know that I need to cut grains out! But I am not ready. Because I am not ready, I just keep eating them, and I think I sometimes eat them more. It is that mentality of putting things off until tomorrow. I can eat whatever I want until I start my new “diet”, that fear of never being able to eat certain things, so you start eating them all the time, even though you never really ate them before. I did that before I went gluten free. I went nuts with pasta. I had only eaten pasta maybe 3 times in the last 6 months, but now that the prospect was there that I wasn’t going to be able to eat it again, that is all I wanted. You always want what you can’t have.

I’m going through that now. And I am really afraid to start going on a completely sugar-free and grain-free diet. But I know that my body is reacting. Yes – even to honey! The sugar goes straight to my head and I get headaches. The grains upset my stomach. Not intense, but enough that I know that I need to do this. So – in order to prepare myself, and plan this out so I really stick to it, I am giving myself until March 1st to get everything in order. That is my D-Day! On March 1, I am going to go full on paleo diet. I have heard amazing things about the paleo diet, and I don’t think it is going to be a huge stretch from where I am currently.

I know – I keep experimenting with my own nutrition plan. But – how will I know what works best for my body unless I am willing to go through this? How can I purport to help others with their nutrition plans if I am not willing to do the work myself?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

