Alena’s Measurements and Nutrition

6 05 2011

So – the last post of Project Restore Me has arrived… That doesn’t mean that Project Restore Me is over, it continues, but I feel like I am past the part where I needed so much accountability… and my goals, although not all reached, are well on their way to becoming reality.

I have been slacking a little bit over the last month or so, which is evident to me in how I have been feeling and in my measurements. They are all up a little bit from my lowest numbers, but I am okay with that, because I am back on track and figuring out the rest of what is going on in my body.

Over the last 11 months, I have figured out that I am gluten intolerant, and that I also react to dairy, soy, corn and sugar. I am 100% gluten free, and know that I will stay that way for the rest of my life. I feel too good, and too many of my symptoms have gone away to even contemplate going back to eating that way. The best part though, is that I don’t even crave or miss the typical gluten-ous foods anymore. It has become easy to cook and live gluten-free. Now – the other foods I struggle with – especially sugar, and dairy when I visit family.

So, along with the desire to once and for all get rid of the sugar and dairy cravings, and because of some other symptoms that have popped up, I started an anti-candida diet yesterday along with a full-on liver, bile, intestinal and lymph cleanse. Along with massive amounts of supplements and herbs that I am taking on a daily basis, it also means no sugars (up to one piece of fruit per day), no grains, minimal starchy vegetables, and no processed foods. For 4-6 weeks. Feeling great so far, but it has only been one day! I can already tell that some of the detox has started, and it is a great feeling to be freeing myself of food addictions and sensitivities!

So – on to the numbers… I am just posting my first and last… If you want to see any of the other numbers, there are some earlier postings that show most of the measurements.

  June 6, 2010 May 5, 2011 Difference
Height: 5’9”      
Weight 167 144 -23
BMI (body mass index) 24.7 21.3 -3.4
Waist (at belly button) 33” 27.75” -5.25”
Hips (at ASIS) 37.5” 32.75” -4.75”
Thighs (at widest point) 26.5” 23.5” -3”
Biceps (at widest point) 12.5” 11.5” -1”
Bust (nipple-line) 39” 35.25” -3.75”
Bra-line 33” 30.25” -2.75”
Hips/Thighs/Butt (at widest point) 44” 39.25” -4.75”

So – I’ve noticed that I trim up well in my middle, but my extremities take their time… My arms and legs are the last ones to react to the weight loss and fitness… They’ve improved, but there is still a long way to go until I am fully comfortable with myself. Hoping this happens a little more quickly now… it is what I am feeling most self-conscious about!

I am amazed at how wonderful it has felt to make all of these changes. It is not just losing weight, it is changing my attitude and making my health a priority. Don’t get me wrong, the losing weight and looking good part is great, but to truly make those mental changes and attitude shifts has been the true reward.

Having said that… here’s the pictures.

Top photos are from 5/5/11, bottom photos are from Day 1 - 6/4/11. Sorry the quality is so bad, I had to take them with a timer in the bathroom! Oops:)

Thanks so much for following my progress over the last year and helping to hold me accountable, even if you didn’t know that is what you were doing. I really needed to have this vehicle to do that for me. Thank you for helping me figure out how to have a positive, healthy attitude, and to want to lead a healthy, productive, vibrant life!

Actions

Information

One response

6 05 2011
twosistersglutenfree

You’ve got some amazing definition in that back of yours now! 🙂 Looking great! So proud of you sistah!
Love you!

Leave a Reply

